Google Analytics Account Permissions – What Does Each One Mean?

Rachel Zinanti

August 13, 2014

Google Analytics Account Permissions – What Does Each One Mean?

We’ve talked before about how we use Google Analytics to take SEM management to the next level and the importance of using Google Analytics goals to track conversions, but today we’re going to take a more tactical approach and discuss what the different account permission levels in Google Analytics (GA) actually mean and where you can assign them in the GA interface.

Google use to offer just two account permission options, administrator and user, but now they offer four which you can assign to users individually or as a combination.  These four permission levels are:

1) Read & Analyze
User can see report data and change their data view with filters, segments, and secondary dimensions.  Users with this permission can also create and share personal assets (e.g. segments and custom reports).  They also see assets shared with them, but can’t collaborate on them.

This access level is good to assign to individuals who just need to see data and don’t need to worry about setting up goals or accessing the tracking code.

2) Collaborate
Includes all Read & Analyze capabilities, plus the user is able to create and share personal assets and can collaborate/edit assets shared with them, for example edit a dashboard or custom report.

This access level is good to grant to a team of people assigned to analyzing your data since it allows them to share things more easily within the interface, while still preventing them from interfering with goal and filter settings or accessing the tracking code.

3) Edit
Includes all Collaborate and Read & Analyze capabilities plus the user can conduct certain administrative tasks and additional report functions such as adding, editing, and deleting accounts, filters, and goals.

When we request access to a Google Analytics account this is the permission we prefer to receive as it allows us to conduct more of the complex reporting, conversion tracking setup, and other account maintenance we do to help clients better measure and understand their ROI.

4) Manage Users
Does not include Edit or Collaborate abilities. Users with this permission can determine who should be added or deleted as users for a Google Analytics account and assign permission levels.

This access level only needs to be provided to individuals that are in charge of granting people access to the Google Analytics account and assigning permission levels.

How To Assigning Permission Levels

To assign permission levels to people with access to your Google Analytics account (assuming you have Manage User permission) do the following:

1)     Login to Google Analytics and select the appropriate website profile.

2)     Select “Admin” from the top menu.
Screen Shot 2014-08-06 at 5.13.12 PM

3)     Under the Account column on the far left, select “User Management”

Screen Shot 2014-08-06 at 5.21.35 PM

4)     On the right side of your screen you’ll see a list of email addresses.  Find the one you want to edit and then select the appropriate permission level from the drop down on the right.  Done!

Screen Shot 2014-08-06 at 5.16.23 PM

*Bonus tidbit – this is also where you go to add users to your GA account.  Below the list of email address with permissions there’s a box where you can enter someone’s email.

Screen Shot 2014-08-06 at 5.18.07 PM